Wall charger repaired

They came Thursday to repair my wall charger. They completely replaced the innards of the thing so it’s as good as new. The mechanic did that while I was at work, so when getting home I immediately tried to charge. It still didn’t work. The same symptoms as three months ago when it was new: white light – green light – flashing red light.

So they had to pass by again on Friday morning to look into it. Friday’s I am usually at home so I could watch and check before the mechanic left. It was the same issue as before: the thick 3 phase 6 mm² cable impeding the latch that locks the plug. After 5 minutes and a few tie-wraps everything was in working order and I’m running again. They really really need to change the design of this charger. It is costing them service visits for nothing.

And some other good news: they opened up a fast charger on the Haarrijn petrol station along the A2 from Amsterdam to Utrecht. The first of about 20 planned for the Randstad (the populous western and central part of The Netherlands). Accidentally I have to travel from Amsterdam to Utrecht tomorrow afternoon. Can’t wait to pay a visit and see if it is suitable for my ZOE. All fast chargers in operation today are CHAdeMO DC chargers, only usuable if you have a LEAF.

I want 63 A 3-phase!

Leave a Reply

